ARC Centre of Excellence in Exciton Science |

Welcome to Exciton Science

At the ARC Centre of Excellence in Exciton Science, we are excited about the possibilities of transforming light into energy and energy into light.  We are a collaboration of academia and industry focused on innovative research to improve solar energy technology, lighting and security systems.

Read more

Join the Exciton Science mailing list to receive updates about the Centre's activities and events straight to your inbox. 

Our arcade-style games allow your students to explore concepts around renewable energy and solar technology and have loads of fun while doing it!


Manian A, Shaw RA, Lyskov I, Russo SP.  2022.  The quantum chemical solvation of indole: accounting for strong solute–solvent interactions using implicit/explicit models. Physical Chemistry Chemical Physics.
Read more
Othman M, Zheng F, Seeber A, Chesman ASR, Scully AD, Ghiggino KP, Gao M, Etheridge J, Angmo D.  2022.  Millimeter‐Sized Clusters of Triple Cation Perovskite Enables Highly Efficient and Reproducible Roll‐to‐Roll Fabricated Inverted Perovskite Solar Cells. Advanced Functional Materials. :2110700.
Read more
Mulvaney P, Tadgell B, Ponomareva E, Karg M.  2022.  The fuzzy sphere morphology is responsible for the increase in light scattering during the shrinkage of thermoresponsive microgels. Soft Matter.
Read more
Tawfik SAbdulkader, Russo SP.  2022.  PyPhotonics: A python package for the evaluation of luminescence properties of defects. Computer Physics Communications. :108222.
Read more


Cups of coffee








The Centre of Excellence in Exciton Science is an Australian Research Council research centre linking the University of Melbourne, Monash University, RMIT University, UNSW Sydney and the University of Sydney.

Our partners include: The Defence Science and Technology Group, The Reserve Bank of Australia and CSIRO.