Centre Structure

The ARC Centre of Excellence in Exciton Science focuses on three core activities.

  • Research: deliver high quality research outcomes.
  • Translations: make an impact on industry and inspire the next generation of researchers.
  • Administration: use public resources effectively to achieve the mission of the Centre.

The Director is Professor Paul Mulvaney. He is supported by an Executive Committee representing the core activities.

An Advisory Board, with experts in each of the core activities, provides oversight to ensure that the Centre is meeting its goals. The Advisory Board is chaired by Professor Mark Considine Provost of the University of Melbourne.

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee is responsible for reviewing the strategic direction of the Centre, assessing progress against projected milestones and implementing strategic changes to the Centre’s research directions or operation. 

The Executive Committee comprises:

  • Centre Director
    • Prof. Paul Mulvaney
  • Deputy Directors
    • Prof. Udo Bach
    • Prof. Salvy Russo
    • Assoc. Prof. Dane McCamey
  • Chief Operating Officer
    • Ms. Kate Lowry

Centre Advisory Board

The Centre Advisory Board reviews all aspects of the Centre’s operations, including administrative functions, strategic planning and decision making, intellectual property, outreach and commercial translation. Members include:

Prof. Mark Considine
University of Melbourne
Ms Tanya Ha
Science Journalist and Catalyst Presenter
Prof. Neil Greenham
University of Cambridge, UK
Deputy Head of Physics
Prof. Marc Parlange
Monash University
Provost and Senior Vice-President
Dr Scott Watkins
Kyung-in Synthetic Corporation Entrepreneur
Director, Overseas Business

International Scientific Advisory Committee

 This Committee provides scientific oversight and advice to the Centre. Members include:

Prof. Neil Greenham
University of Cambridge, UK
Deputy Head of Physics
Prof. Elsa Reichmanis
Georgia Institute of Technology, USA
Brooke Byers Professor of Sustainability
Prof. Marc Baldo
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Director for the Center of Excitonics, Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Prof. Hiroshi Masuhara
National Chiao Tung University Taiwan
Chair Professor of Applied Chemistry

Research Theme Leaders