ARC Centre of Excellence in Exciton Science |

Welcome to Exciton Science

At the ARC Centre of Excellence in Exciton Science, we are excited about the possibilities of transforming light into energy and energy into light.  We are a collaboration of academia and industry focused on innovative research to improve solar energy technology, lighting and security systems.

Read more

Join the Exciton Science mailing list to receive updates about the Centre's activities and events straight to your inbox. 

Our arcade-style games allow your students to explore concepts around renewable energy and solar technology and have loads of fun while doing it!


Nisar A, Hapuarachchi H, Lermusiaux L, Cole JH, Funston AM.  2022.  Controlling Photoluminescence for Optoelectronic Applications via Precision Fabrication of Quantum Dot/Au Nanoparticle Hybrid Assemblies. ACS Applied Nano Materials. 5(3):3213-3228.
Read more
Zeng P, Ren X, Wei L, Zhao H, Liu X, Zhang X, Xu Y, Yan L, Boldt K, Smith TA et al..  2022.  Control of Hot Carrier Relaxation in CsPbBr3 Nanocrystals Using Damping Ligands. Angewandte Chemie International Edition. 61(15):e202111443.
Read more
Kalčec N, Peranić N, Barbir R, Hall CR, Smith TA, Sani MAntoine, Frkanec R, Separovic F, Vrček IVinković.  2022.  Spectroscopic study of L-DOPA and dopamine binding on novel gold nanoparticles towards more efficient drug-delivery system for Parkinson’s disease. Spectrochimica Acta Part A: Molecular and Biomolecular Spectroscopy. 268:120707.
Read more
Tadgell B, Ponomareva E, Karg M, Mulvaney P.  2022.  Temperature-Jump Spectroscopy of Gold–Poly(N-isopropylacrylamide) Core–Shell Microgels. The Journal of Physical Chemistry C. 126(8):4118-4131.
Read more


Cups of coffee






Media mentions


The Centre of Excellence in Exciton Science is an Australian Research Council research centre linking the University of Melbourne, Monash University, RMIT University, UNSW Sydney and the University of Sydney.

Our partners include: The Defence Science and Technology Group, The Reserve Bank of Australia and CSIRO.