Partners | ARC Centre of Excellence in Exciton Science

Academic Partners

The University of Melbourne is a globally engaged, comprehensive, research-intensive university uniquely positioned to respond to the major social, economic and environmental challenges of our time. The university is one of the largest employers in the state of Victoria with more than 6,500 professional and academic staff spreading over seven beautiful and historic campuses. It is also home to 100 centres and institutes for research and research training.


Monash University is a research-intensive university, known for some significant and lasting discoveries that have delivered impact beyond the academic community. The university is home to a range of world-leading facilities and technologies, giving it wide-ranging capabilities across many fields, sectors and industries. Monash works with a variety of industry, government and community groups, allowing its researchers to share their discoveries with the world.


RMIT University is a global university of technology, design and enterprise. One of Australia's original tertiary institutions, RMIT University enjoys an international reputation for excellence in professional and vocational education, applied research, and engagement with the needs of industry and the community.


As the first university to be established in Australasia, the University of Sydney consistently ranks as one of Australia’s top universities. University of Sydney aims to create and sustain a university that will, for the benefit of both Australia and the wider world, maximise the potential of the brightest researchers and most promising students, whatever their social or cultural background.


The University of New South Wales (UNSW) is one of Australia's leading research and teaching universities. Established in 1949, UNSW has expanded rapidly and now has more than 52,000 students, including more than 14,000 international students from over 130 different countries. UNSW is a founding member of the prestigious Group of Eight research intensive universities in Australia and a member of the Universitas 21 international consortium.


The University of Bayreuth has earned an international reputation for its uniquely interdisciplinary approach to research and teaching. As one of Germany’s youngest universities, it is able to operate in an unbiased, self-confident spirit of academic freedom, scientific progress, and social responsibility. Interdisciplinary focus and the innovative collaboration between many disciplines are key features of Bayreuth’s research culture.


The Chinese Academy of Sciences is the linchpin of China’s drive to explore and harness high technology and the natural sciences. Comprising a comprehensive research and development network, a merit-based learned society and a system of higher education, CAS brings together scientists and engineers from China and around the world to address both theoretical and applied problems using world-class scientific and management approaches. 

Industry Partners

As Australia’s National Science Agency, CSIRO solves the greatest challenges using innovative science and technology. CSIRO’s value to the Australian economy is massive, including a proud legacy of inventing fast Wi-Fi, Aerogard and polymer banknotes. Today they’re helping to find the first gravitational waves in space, growing gluten-free grains, 3D-printing body parts and pioneering new renewable energy sources.


The Reserve Bank of Australia (RBA) is Australia's central bank. Its duty is to contribute to the stability of the currency, full employment, and the economic prosperity and welfare of the Australian people. It does this by conducting monetary policy to meet an agreed medium-term inflation target, working to maintain a strong financial system and efficient payments system, and issuing the nation's banknotes. 


Defence Science and Technology Group brings together interdisciplinary expertise from across Australia and around the world to address Defence and national security challenges. Its role is to work closely with the Australian science, technology and innovation eco-system to deliver scientific advice and solutions that provide capability enhancement for Defence and the national security community.


The Australian Synchrotron is a major research facility located in Clayton, a technology and innovation hub of southeast Melbourne.  It is one of Australia's most significant pieces of scientific infrastructure. Scientific research and innovation using synchrotron light span hugely diverse areas of activity and has led to advances that bring benefits to Australia and internationally.


The Australian National Fabrication Facility links MCN with seven university-based nodes throughout Australia to provide access to state-of-the-art fabrication facilities. This capability enables users to process hard materials (metals, semiconductors, composites and ceramics) and soft materials (polymers and polymer-biological moieties) and transform these into structures that have applications in sensors, medical devices, nano-photonics and nano-electronics.